An Idea from the Yarn Harlot

I want to share a great idea from the Yarn Harlot.
Cover to Yarn Harlot
Some of you may not have met the Yarn Harlot. She’s a wonderful and very funny lady from Canada who has captured knitters, all kinds of knitters in her many books. Stephanie Pearl-McPhee Casts Off or The Yarn Harlot’s Guide to the Land of Knitting, ends with this:

“We all know it looks like yarn, but it is love . . . and for this it’s worth giving up all your closet space.”

For more from the Yarn Harlot check out her blog where you can also find links to her many books.

The idea I want to share is her One Row Handspun Scarf, a free pattern that has been knit into 9178 projects by members of Ravelry.

Here is the Yarn Harlot’s description of the pattern: “This pattern is quick, easy, has only one row to learn, is reversible, looks good in any gauge, is easy to make wider or narrower (making it awesome for handspun) and looks (I believe) fabulous.” As you might guess there is only one row and this instruction, “Repeat that one row every row until you can stand it no longer, your scarf is long enough or you run out of yarn, whatever comes first.”

Sparklig Water 3 Sparkling Water Vertical

I used this pattern on a number of scarves made of handdyed yarn. Dyed by other hands of course. The stitch pattern looks wonderful and mixes the colors beautifully.

Recently, I found another use for the pattern.

My mother wanted a warm scarf. I believe she said, “You are knitting all the time and finish scarves in a blink. I wonder if one could leap off the needles in my direction?” What could I do?

(Just a note. It may sound like I haven’t ever knit my mother a thing but that certainly isn’t true. But it has been a quite a while since the last token of my affection.)

So I tried a number of swatches with beautiful multi-colored yarns. None of them worked for Mom. Finally she said, “Does it have to have so many colors? Couldn’t it be just red?”

Just red? What a thought!

I found some red yarn and thought about what to do. By now it was mid-January and unlike other parts of the country, the cold weather wasn’t going to be around much longer in the Pacific Northwest. So it needed to be fast and attractive.

About then I remembered the One Row Scarf pattern. The yarn I was using wasn’t handspun or handdyed or even multicolored . And yet I thought it might work. And it did.

GG's Red ScarfGG Red Scarf Close-Up

The pattern looks great in a solid color, has a lot of texture, is visually complex and reversible but simple and fast. So, I gave her this scarf last week. She put it right on (always a good sign) and off we went on the errands for the day.

Love you, Mom.

Thanks for stopping by.  I’m off to more KnitKnot Adventures.

Jann

3 thoughts on “An Idea from the Yarn Harlot

Leave a Reply

