My Grandparents’ Afghan

Whole Afgan

Hi There!

I recently went through the treasures in a cedar chest and rediscovered this afghan.

I knit most of this afghan when I was in college. Many of us knit or crocheted, often waiting in line for dinner. (Why we waited in line so often for so long isn’t clear to me now.  Maybe it was the social hour or maybe the good stuff was likely to be gone if you weren’t toward the front of the line.)

Medium View Afgan

The afghan is a true sampler, with a different stitch pattern in every square. Samplers have been around for centuries as a way to practice a needle art and then have an example of a particular design to refer to at a later time. This was particularly important when books were too precious to use for knitting or lace patterns.

Afgan Cables and Bobbles

Looking at this afghan, I was struck by the wide range of stitch patterns: knit and purl stitches, cables, simple lace and more. I’ve met intermediate and experienced knitters who say they have never done cables, or don’t do lace or yarn overs.  This afghan was valuable in providing an opportunity for me to explore lots of different patterns. Each square was only 8 or 9 inches square, so it wasn’t a huge commitment.  And each square was a very convenient, portable project; just right for the dinner line.

Close Up 1

The pattern booklet for this project had 100 possibilities with the instruction to select 63 pattern stitches for a 7 x 9 section blanket. In the end I only made 56 sections for an 7 x 8 square blanket.  I searched for the pattern book on Ravelry and there it was, Knitting Primer – 100 easy to knit stitches!  An old friend.  Barbara Walker also published a similar pattern book, “Learn to Knit Afghan”. With such a fine pedigree, it is worth checking out.

The yarn is a sport weight acrylic yarn from Bear Brand, discontinued decades ago.

Agnes & Carl

The annoying aspect of an afghan like this is the need to put all the pieces together. I finally tackled that chore and gave it to my grandparents, Agnus and Carl Youngren for their 45 wedding  anniversary.  I don’t think they used it much.  My grandmother died a few years later and it was sent back to me for safe keeping. And into the chest it went.

Decades later, I’ve decided to use it. That is what afghans are for.

Thanks for dropping by. I’m off to more KnitKnot Adventures.

Jann

3 thoughts on “My Grandparents’ Afghan

  1. Jann, this afghan is part of your knitting history. What a great gift to have it back to enjoy. I can’t help but think, what a talented knitter you already were in college! I understand a little bit more about where you came from in your knitting by looking at it. Kerry

    Like

Leave a Reply

